Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU)

'Knowledge for Quality Health Services'
  • facebook
  • twitter

Toll Free Number: 0800 00 3164
Call during office hours
Monday to Friday: 07h30 - 16h00

Interim Council members

SMU Substantive Council 2016

Name Designation
1Judge NM MavundlaChairperson
2Prof O ShisanaDeputy Chairperson
3Prof C de BeerInterim Vice-Chancellor

Ministerial Appointments

Name Designation
4Ms SA MchunuDirector, Nursing: National
5Prof J MeyerowitzExecutive Director of UKZN Foundation Trust
6Lt Gen. RamlakanChief of the corporate Staff Services: South African National Defence Force
7Mr P SlackRegistered Accountant

Two Members of Senate elected by Senate

Name Designation
8Prof PS MntlaCardiology
9Prof G A OgunbanjoFamily Medicine and Primary Health Care

Academic Representatives

Name Designation
10Prof L HayHuman Physiology
11Prof T MdakaNuclear Medicine

Two Student Representatives

Name Designation
12*Names will be announced after nominations * New Interim SRC Members
13*Names will be announced after nominations * New Interim SRC Members

Non-Academic Representatives

Name Designation
14Mr N M T Lechaba Human Physiology
15Ms AS Malope Office of the Executive Dean: Assistant Registrar

External Members

Name Designation
16Mr M S I Gani Business and Finance
17Mr L T Lekoana Business and Finance
18Prof M Lukhele Health Sciences
19Ms M Mamabolo Legal
20Ms M Mneno Information Communication Technology ( ICT)
21Mr T M Modise Marketing and Communication
22Dr M E C Moleki Human Resources
23Dr M Motlatla Business and Finance
24Dr A J Van Heerden Health Sciences

Click to Download the SMU Substantive Council 2016